After using the chart to deploy, modify the admin user password on the web. When gitea restarts, the admin password is reset.
I see a password reset in the init script init.yaml, what is the purpose of this? Will there be any bad effects if I remove the admin password reset? Will the configured username and password be used internally by gitea?
I think here the password should not be reset after checking that the user already exists. This will make users confused, I changed the admin password, and the password was reset after gitea restarted.
I don't think the admin password has any effect on the internal Gitea logic. So removing that part for your release shouldn't do any harm.
The idea behind this "reset" is to configure the admin user through the Helm Chart. This also includes changing the password for an existing environment.
If you have changed the password via GUI after starting Gitea I recommend persisting that password for the Helm Chart as well. Otherwise, it could become confusing as the values.yaml usually represent the actual configuration state of the application. If you want to change the password because it is in plaintext in the configuration, you can use a Kubernetes secret as referenced source for the admin configuration. 😉
Deleting a branch is permanent. It CANNOT be undone. Continue?